Backup

The second pane of the settings windows — Backup — manages the following settings:

  • Symlinks management;
  • Default retention policy.

Symlinks Management

CloudBerry Backup for macOS & Linux offers comprehensive symlink management. Namely, you can thoroughly specify how the app should treat symlinks during backup. Here are the four options to choose from:

  1. Do not back up symlinks. Symlinks will not be backed up, and original files will also not be backed up.
  2. Back up symlinks only. Symlinks will be backed up, but original files (to which symlinks point) will not be backed up.
  3. Back up original files instead of symlinks. Original files will be backed up (instead of symlinks) in the folder that contains symlinks. For example, if you have a symlink located in /Desktop that points to a file called "report.docx" in /Downloads, that file will be backed up in /Desktop.
  4. Back up original files in their original locations. Original files will be backed up instead of symlinks in the original folder (not in the folder that contains symlinks). For example, if you have a symlink located in /Desktop that points to a file called "report.docx" in /Downloads, that file will be backed up in /Downloads.

Retention Policy

The second section on Backup settings covers the default retention policy. Here you can instruct CloudBerry Backup to apply the specified retention policy to all files in every backup storage by default. The following options can be configured:

  1. Delete version older than. Files in the backup storage will be deleted after the specified time period has passed. The time period will be tracked either since the backup date or the modification date.
  2. Always keep the last version. Retain the last version of any file in the backup storage regardless of the default retention policy.
  3. Keep number of versions. Retain the specified number of versions of each file in the backup storage.