Backup Service Account

CloudBerry Backup runs dedicated services that process your backup and restore plans in the background. This is why you do not need to be logged in on a computer on which your backup are being processed.

These services run under the Local System account by default, which can prevent the backup service from accessing system, locked or protected files/folders. In such cases, you should grant these services extended privileges by making them run under a corresponding user account.

You can also consider making the service account a member of the Backup Operators group to ensure that files are backed up regardless of any security permissions assigned to them.

When you need to enable a backup service to access network shares, you can specify appropriate network credentials instead of changing the service account.

Changing the Service Account

You can change the account under which a backup service is running by switching to the Tools tab in the application toolbar and clicking Change Service Account. ..

…or by right-clicking the backup service status in the application's status bar.

This invokes the CloudBerry Backup Service Account dialog window where you can specify a required user account and enter corresponding credentials.

Restarting the Backup Service

When you need to restart the backup service (for example, after changing the user mode), you can do this by right-clicking the backup service status in the application's status bar and clicking Stop Service.

After the service has stopped, click Start Service in the same context menu.