Hybrid Backup

Use this option to send your backup to two destinations at once (e.g., on-site and off-site) and avoid repeated processing of data.

With this option selected, the backup service first processes your data and moves it to a Network-attached storage (NAS) or similar local storage, from where the already processed backup makes its way to a cloud storage.

This allows you to avoid repeated processing of your data when you need it to be compressed and/or encrypted in both target storages, because the backup service performs these operations only once, before the saving the backup to the local storage.

For this reason, when you only need to compress and/or encrypt your backup in a cloud, and not in a local storage, consider creating two separate one-way backup tasks instead of selecting the hybrid backup option.

At present, it is not possible to switch your existing backup plans to a Hybrid mode and you need to manually create a hybrid backup plan from scratch.

You can only apply a single set of retention policies to both the local and cloud storage at the time.