Step 6. Destination

Select where to restore the selected files.

You can choose one of the following destinations for your backup:

  • Restore to the original location This will restore the selected files to the same directory where the source files were located.
  • Restore to a specific location This will restore the selected files to a custom directory. You can make the Restore Wizard use this location as a default destination for newly created restore plans by enabling a corresponding option.

In case you use Azure as the cloud storage, you are enabled to manage the blob rehydrate feature provided by Azure.

On the Destination step, select the rehydrate priority you want to use in your restore plan in the Azure rehydrate priority drop-down menu. The following options are available:

  • Standard: The rehydration request will be processed in the order it was received and may take up to 15 hours
  • High. The rehydration request will be prioritized over Standard requests and may finish in under 1 hour. High priority may take longer than 1 hour, depending on blob size and current demand. High priority requests are guaranteed to be prioritized over Standard priority requests.

To learn more on Azure rehydrate feature, refer to the Rehydrate blob data from the archive tier article at Microsoft.

Also, you can specify the following options on this wizard page:

  • Restore deleted files Enables you to select whether or not to restore locally deleted files if the corresponding backup was configured to keep track of them. When configuring a new backup, the Backup Wizard enables you to choose whether or not the backup should store any data that has been deleted from local storage.

When this feature is enabled for a backup, the Restore Wizard lets you choose whether to include locally deleted files in the restored data.

  • Overwrite existing files
    This option specifies whether to replace the existing files in the destination folder with their newer versions or keep the older files and do not restore their newer versions.

Different file versions are attributed to the same file only if their names are identical to that of the original file. This is why a file that has been renamed in local storage will not be considered to be a new version of the previously named file.

When this option is enabled, you can also specify whether to restore only newer file versions or all files regardless of their modification time.

  • Restore NTFS permissions When a backup is configured to store NTFS permissions assigned to files and folders, you can enable this option to restore these permissions along with the selected files. See the following article online to learn more about this feature NTFS Permissions.